How many wickets of PTI have fallen so far?

The PTI is under immense pressure following the recent vandalism and arson attacks on military installations and properties that took place on May 9. As a result, several key party leaders have departed from their positions.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), the political party helmed by ex-Prime Minister Imran Khan, is presently encountering its most challenging trial in its 27-year-long existence. In a surprising turn of events, a number of loyal Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders have announced their departure from the party.

The arrest of PTI Chairman Imran Khan on May 9 in the Al-Qadir Trust case, followed by violent protests that saw his supporters storm and set fire to state installations throughout the country, has resulted in a significant number of leaders leaving the former ruling party.

Over the course of nearly three days, protests have resulted in the loss of at least 8 lives and left dozens injured. In response, the current coalition government has suspended internet services and deployed army troops to maintain law and order.

In response to the unprecedented attacks on defense and public properties, a crackdown has been launched on the PTI. The aim is to detain the suspect involved in the vandalism. The country’s top civil-military leadership has vowed to try rioters under relevant laws of the country, including the Army Act.

As per the announcements, PTI wickets including 28 from Punjab, 8 from Sindh, 1 from Balochistan and 7 from KPK have fallen as notable members and top faces of PTI have quit the party.


  1. Aamer Mahmood Kiani – Founding member, Punjab
  2. Shireen Mazari – Senior vice president, Punjab
  3. Fawad Chaudhry – Senior vice president, Punjab
  4. Fayazul Hassan Chohan – Former provincial minister, Punjab
  5. Makhdoom Iftikharul Hassan Gillani – Ex-MPA, Punjab
  6. Abdul Razaq Khan Niazi – Ex-MPA, Punjab
  7. Khawaja Qutab Fareed Koreja – Ex-MNA, Punjab
  8. Mian Jaleel Ahmed Sharaqpuri – Ex-MPA, Punjab
  9. Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain – Former PML-Q Member, PTI supporter, Punjab
  10. Malik Amin Aslam – Former federal minister, Punjab
  11. Dr Muhammad Amjad – Ex-PTI central deputy secretary general for Islamabad, Punjab
  12. Faizullah Kamoka – PTI West Punjab President, Punjab
  13. Jalil Sharqpuri – Former MPA, Punjab
  14. Faizullah Kamuka – PTI West Punjab President
  15. Syed Saeedul Hassan – Former Punjab MPA
  16. Makhdoom Syed Iftikhar Hasan Gilani – Ex-MPA, Punjab
  17. Chaudhry Hussain Elahi – MNA, Punjab
  18. Saleem Akhtar Labar – Ex-MPA, Punjab
  19. Dr Mohammad Afzal – Ticket holder (PP-248), Punjab
  20. Chaudhry Ehsanul Haq – Ticket holder (PP-247), Punjab
  21. Sardar Qaisar Abbas Khan Magsi – former MPA, Punjab
  22. Zaheeruddin Khan Alizai – former MPA, Punjab
  23. Aun Dogar – former MPA, Punjab
  24. Abdul Hai Dasti – former MPA, Punjab
  25. Malik Mujtaba Niaz Gishkori – former MPA, Punjab
  26. Alamdar Husain Qureshi – former MPA, Punjab
  27. Sajjad Hussain Cheena – former MPA, Punjab
  28. Ashraf Rind – former MPA, Punjab


  1. Bilal Ghaffar – MPA, Sindh
  2. Jay Prakash – MNA, Sindh
  3. Omar Omari – MPA, Sindh
  4. Mehmood Moulvi, PTI Sindh Vice President
  5. Aftab Siddiqui – PTI Karachi President
  6. Syed Zulfiqar Ali Shah – MPA, Sindh
  7. Sanjay Gangwani – MPA, Sindh
  8. Dr Imran Shah – MPA, Sindh


  1. Dr Hisham Inamullah Malik – Former provincial minister, KPK
  2. Ajmal Wazir – Ex-KP government spokesperson, KPK
  3. Usman Tarakai – MNA, KPK
  4. Malik Jawad Hussain – MNA, KPK
  5. Muhammad Iqbal Wazir – Ex-KP minister, KPK
  6. Nadia Sher – Ex-MPA, KPK
  7. Malik Qayyum Hissam – District leader, KPK


  1. Mubeen Khilji – Ex-provincial minister, Balochistan

The aftermath of the May 9 events presents a considerable obstacle for PTI, and the party’s ability to navigate this challenging period remains uncertain. The departure of prominent leaders and the alleged pressure placed on them has unquestionably challenged the resilience and capacity of PTI to endure the state’s policies.

The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily reflect Coverpage’s editorial stance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.